Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


IRS Free File For 22 U.S. States— See Which States Offer Them

IRS Free File [Photo: IRS]
IRS Free File [Photo: IRS]

The Internal Revenue Service (IRS)’s Free File offers access to free tax preparation and filing in 22 U.S. states. Read and find out in this article which of the states are offering it!

Internal Revenue Service [Photo:]

Internal Revenue Service [Photo:]

The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) has a Free File program that provides cheap and easy tax preparation and filing for millions of eligible taxpayers in the U.S. The IRS Free File offers free of charge access to tax preparation and filing through different commercial partners. These programs provide electronic filing options that will guide taxpayers through the tax preparation and filing process.

According to Neubauer, to be eligible for the IRS Free File, a taxpayer must earn an adjusted gross income (AGI) of less than $73,000 in their income tax returns. However, commercial software partners may have their own eligibility requirements that consider a taxpayer’s age, income, and the state where they live. In general, a taxpayer is required to file the federal tax return first before filing the state tax returns.

READ ALSO: File Your Taxes With Confidence: AARP Foundation Launches Free Tax-Aide Program For All!

22 U.S. States That Offer Free File

An article in NerdWallet states that 22 U.S. states and the District of Columbia provide a Free File program for the state tax returns. The states that offer the Free File program include Washington D.C., West Virginia, Virginia, Vermont, South Carolina, Rhode Island, Oregon, North Dakota, North Carolina, New York, Montana, Mississippi, Missouri, Minnesota, Michigan, Massachusetts, Kentucky, Iowa, Indiana, Idaho, Georgia, Arizona, and Arkansas.

Unfortunately, the residents of Wyoming, Washington, Texas, South Dakota, Nevada, Florida, and Alaska are not eligible for state-level Free File. This is because their states do not have an income tax. Nonetheless, residents of these states can still be eligible for the federal-level Free File if they meet the eligibility requirements.

READ ALSO: Are You A Taxpayer? Know The Four Ways To Make Your Tax Free

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *