Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Director Chloé Zhao won at the 73rd annual DGA Award for Nomadland!

Chloé Zhao

Director Chloé Zhao won the top prize at the 73rd annual Directors Guild of America Awards for “Nomadland”, which portrys the lives of the itinerant workers in the American West. She is the 2nd woman, and the 1st woman of color to earn the top DGA Award. 1st award was won by Kathryn Bigelow for her 2009 film “The Hurt Locker”.

Chloe accepted her award on Zoom like other winners. Her speech paid a heartfelt tribute to each of her fellow nominees. She said  “To Promising Young Woman… director Emerald Fennell… You’re in such control of your craft and with such a unique voice. I can’t wait to see what thought-provoking journey you’re gonna take us on next.”

To “Minari” director Lee Isaac Chung, Chloe said that his film touched her on a personal level. She called “The Trial of the Chicago 7” director Aaron Sorkin a poet and said she could feel her heart with his while watching the film. All the movies from “Mank” director David Fincher are a master class and she just found out that he is super funny.

Other directors who won at the 73rd annual  DGA Award –

  • Director Darius Marder won for the first-time for his feature film “Sound of Metal”.
  • Susanna Fogel won the award for directing the premiere episode of  “The Flight Attendant” (HBO Max).
  • Lesli Linka Glatter won the TV drama award for the final season of  Homeland (Showtime).
  • Scott Frank won the limited series and TV movie award for directing The Queen’s Gambit (Netflix).
  • Amy Schatz received the award for “We Are the Dream: The Kids of the Oakland MLK Oratorical Fest” (HBO children program).
  • Joseph Guidry won the reality TV award for Full Bloom (HBO Max) for the episode Petal to the Metal.

For the Bests, by Dr. Dre advertisement Melina Matsoukas won the commercials award. Don Roy King won his sixth consecutive  Talk/News/Variety/Sports series award for Saturday Night Live for the episode hosted by Dave Chappelle. Thomas Schlamme (DGA president) won the Talk/News/Variety/Sports — Specials award for “A West Wing Special to Benefit When We All Vote.”

Paris Barclay former DGA president prolific TV director won the honorary life membership award and he is the 1st black director to receive the award.  Betty Thomas received the Robert B. Aldrich achievement award, for her extraordinary service to the DGA and its members. Brian E. Frankish received the Frank Capra Achievement Award. This award honors unit production managers and assistant directors. Associate director Joyce Thomas received the Franklin J. Schaffner Achievement Award. This award honors stage managers and associate directors.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.